Return to Headlines

Jefferson County Board of Education recognize student and staff accomplishments

Charles Town, W.Va. – The Jefferson County Board of Education (BOE) recognized students and staff members who have made stellar contributions to the county’s schools during the board meeting on Monday, Mar. 27.
All-State Band Members  
At the meeting, the BOE presented nearly 40 students and two staff members with certificates of honorable achievement. All- State Band and Orchestra participants stand behind the BOE in recognition of their acceptance into the ensemble. Pictured from left to right: Dara Insixiengmay, Ryan Walker, Craig Swink,  Matteo Cerasoli Not pictured:  Ryan Cole, Alex Haggerty, Matthew Holmes, Eleanor Kearney,  Ian King, Ian Livingston, Anna Lynch,  Kristian Moore, Jared Myers, Mariah Rick, Jack Suduth, Ally Ward, AnamCara Dixon,  Will Guthrie, Cara Lavigne, Emma Locarnini, Jacob Vila, Matthew Wogan and Aurora Stone. 
Twenty-three students were recognized for their achievement as participants in the 2017 All-State Band and Orchestra:

Jefferson High School participants:
Ryan Cole
Alex Haggerty
Matthew Holmes
Eleanor Kearney
Ian King
Ian Livingston
Anna Lynch
Kristian Moore
Jared Myers
Mariah Rick
Jack Sudduth
Ally Ward

The Jefferson High School students will be formally recognized at their spring concert on April 11.

Washington High School participants:
Matteo Cerasoli
AnamCara Dixon
Will Guthrie
Dara Insixiengmay
Cara LaVigne
Emma Locarnini
Craig Swink
 Jacob Vila
Ryan Walker
Matthew Wogan
Shepherdstown Middle School participant:
Aurora Stone
Geography Bee Winners  
County winners of the National Geographic Bee stand behind the BOE in recognition of their advancement to the state championship on March 31. Pictured from left to right: Joss Poteet, Chistian Staubs, Sebastian Veselovsiky, Molly Lassen, Ethan Fisher, Andrew Overly and Britt Shoedel. These students qualify to advance to the state championship, which will be held on March 31 at Concord University.

These contestants are:
Ethan Fisher, Harpers Ferry Middle School
Molly Lassen, Driswood Elementary School
Andrew Oyerly, Shepherdstown Elementary School
Joss Poteet, Wildwood Middle School
Britt Shoedel, C.W. Shipley Elementary School
Chistian Staubs, Charles Town Middle School
Sebastian Veselovsiky, Shepherdstown Middle School
Young Writers Winners  
Six students were honored as winners of the 2017 Young Writers Contest in Jefferson County. This program fosters an interest in the writing process while encouraging students to compile a creative narrative that engages its readers. A student is selected from different grade levels across the county.

This year’s front-runners include:
Kylie Cline, North Jefferson Elementary School
Grace Esterly, Harpers Ferry Middle School
Melanie Fino, Washington High School
Elisabeth Gottlieb, C.W. Shipley Elementary School
Una Haines, Shepherdstown Middle School
Ali Householder, Washington High School
Microsoft Winers  
Three Washington High School students stand behind the BOE to recognize their placement at the Microsoft Office Specialist-West Virginia Fall Qualifier Contest. Pictured from left to right: Davian Hester, Tyler Tapocik and  Kylie Kirshner.  Davian Hester earned first place in Word for 2016. Kylie Kershner came in second place for PowerPoint 2016, and Tyler Tapocik took third place in Word 2016. This recognition stems from the WHS Business Department’s implementation of the Microsoft IT Academy. This program is designed to equip students with real-world technology skills that support lifelong learners in the 21st century economy.
Flor Brown Best  
Jefferson County Schools recognize a professional staff person and service person each month as a Spirit of Jefferson award winner. These nominations are fueled by colleagues, parents, and other members of the community.  Pictured from left to right: Spirit of Jefferson Award Winner in the service personnel category, Flo Best stands next to Page Jackson Elementary School principal, Nicole Shaffer to celebrate Flo’s contributions to Jefferson County Schools.
Tammy Kidwiler  
Flo Best, cafeteria manager at Page Jackson Elementary, was this month’s service person nominee and Tammy Kidwiler, kindergarten teacher at North Jefferson Elementary, was selected as the professional nominee. Best and Kidwiler were presented with certificates of appreciation, as well as a $100 check. Checks are provided each month to Spirit of Jefferson recipients by an anonymous donor.
The next BOE recognition meeting is scheduled for 7 p.m. Apr. 24 at 110 Mordington Avenue in Charles Town.

About Jefferson County Schools
The mission of Jefferson County Schools is: “Through excellence in teaching and learning, Jefferson County Schools will ensure that all students value themselves and others, contribute to their community and succeed in a global society.” With a total of 17 schools, the district employs more than 1,100 staff members and enrolls more than 9,000 students.  The county is home to eleven elementary schools, four middle schools and two high schools. Since 2000, Jefferson County has been one of the fastest growing localities in West Virginia, experiencing more than 30 percent growth in its population. As one of the top ten employers in Jefferson County, the district annually receives teacher grants for programs that contribute to hands-on learning, preparing students for the 21st century workplace. To learn more about Jefferson County Schools, visit