Superintendent's Scholarship Recipients Named

Superintendent's Scholarship Recipients Named
Posted on 07/08/2019
CHARLES TOWN, W.Va. – A total of 13 Jefferson County Schools service personnel are joining a co-hort at Blue Ridge Community and Technical College (BRCTC) to earn their Associates Degree thanks to the 2019 Superintendent’s Scholarship.
Each recipient will be awarded a full tuition scholarship for the two-year co-hort that will take place in Jefferson County at the Jefferson County Transportation and Operations Facility.
Jefferson County School Superintendent Dr. Bondy Shay Gibson said she was grateful to those who applied for the scholarship because of what it means to others in the community.
“I deeply appreciate their commitment to education and the example that they are setting for our community and our children,” Dr. Gibson said.
The two-year program covers the cost of tuition; however, books and other course materials will be the responsibility of the scholarship recipients.
The scholarship was first established in 2018 after the Jefferson County Board of Education approved a new four-year contract of employment Dr. Gibson.  
In lieu of a raise, Dr. Gibson requested the formation of this scholarship.  
Three individual scholarships were awarded the first year, but thanks to a new agreement with BRCTC, the co-hort was established to expand the opportunity to more employees.
The recipients of the 2019 Superintendent’s Scholarship are Leeanna Adkins, Erlinda Aguao, Tamara Bailey, Geri Michele Clemmons, Wendy Dodson, Kelli Myers, Tessa Penwell, Mildred Poole, Lisa Reynolds, Dalia Rodriguez, Mary Seal, Alicca Stallings, and JoAnn Stine.
Thanks to the co-hort opportunity provided by BRCTC, Jefferson County Schools was able to offer the scholarship to everyone who applied this year.

© 2019 Jefferson County Schools. All Rights Reserved.