September Spirit Award winners announced

Spirit of Jefferson Award winners named for September
Posted on 10/09/2018
Sept 2018 Spirit of Jefferson Award winnersCHARLES TOWN, W.Va. -- Each month Jefferson County Schools recognizes a professional staff person and a service person as Spirit of Jefferson award winners.  Nominations are submitted by colleagues, parents, and other members of the community.
This month’s award winners are Beth Saunders, a teacher at T.A. Lowery Elementary School, and Sharon Stuart, a secretary at Wildwood Middle School.
Saunders, a teacher in a PMI classroom at T.A. Lowery, is described as a cheerleader for her team, always smiling and exhibiting strong, genuine love for her students.  Although her job is emotionally exhausting on a daily basis, she volunteers to assist with events before and after schools, takes time to learn about new opportunities and experiences for herself, her team and her students.  
According to Dawn Tyler, Assistant Principal who submitted the nomination, “Laughter from her corner of the world comes from students, teaching assistants, parents, and Beth herself.”
Staurt,  a secretary at Wildwood Middle School,  is described by her colleague, Dr. Louise McDonald, as “the person who makes the world go round – always knowing how to help teachers and students get done whatever they need to do. She exceeds expectations in everything she does.”
She makes everyone more effective in their jobs and keeps the office running smoothly at all times.  She coordinates her building as necessary with other schools, the county office, and outside world.  She is the first voice parents hear when they call and the first face visitors see  when they visit the school

© 2019 Jefferson County Schools. All Rights Reserved.