October Spirit of Jefferson Award Winners named

October Spirit of Jefferson Award Winners named
Posted on 10/25/2018
CHARLES TOWN, W.Va. -- Two “Spirit of Jefferson” were presented at Monday night Board of Education meeting to two school employees:  Tina Hartlove and Anne Portrey.
Tina Hartlove is an aide at Shepherdstown Middle School.  She was nominated by a co-worker, Larissa Spiker who said the nominee  is Shepherdstown Middle School’s “ISS and detention  guru.” She says Hartlove is a true gift to the children she sees.  She sees children at their worst, but she treats them with patience and firmness that engenders respect from the students and from her colleagues.  She cares deeply for the academic, social, and emotional success of “her kids.”  She is thought of very highly by her colleagues with whom she has a close relationship and a willingess to help them in any way possible.
Anne Portrey is a teacher at Jefferson High School. Nominated by a fellow staff member at Jefferson High School, Jay Kirby, Portrey is a veteran teacher with a reputation as an outstanding teacher who has a positive attitude and is constantly willing to help students and staff.  She makes everyone feel that he or she is truly an important part of the school.  Her positive attitude is contagious.  No individual feels unimportant when working with her.  She truly cares about the student and staff.

© 2019 Jefferson County Schools. All Rights Reserved.