JCBOE Recognizes Students

JCBOE Recognizes Students
Posted on 11/08/2019
CHARLES TOWN, W.Va. -- The Jefferson County Board of Education held a special meeting to honor numerous students and employees on Tuesday, November 5, at the Ranson Civic Center.
The board recognizes the hard work students of levels throughout the school system in and out of the classroom.
“Our students are incredible,” Jefferson County Board President Kathryn Skinner said. “It is important that we get a chance to show them just how proud we are of their achievements.”
Schools each submitted students to be recognized during the meeting.
“It is a new process,” according to Public Information Officer Hans Fogle. “These special events will be a good way for the board members to see how our students excel, and the Ranson Civic Center is such an amazing community space, we believe this will be a great event moving forward.”
The Ranson Civic Center provided space and helped with set-up and break-down of the event.
A similar recognition ceremony will be held early next year to recognize more students.

The honorees Tuesday included:

Driswood Elementary
Students from across West Virginia entered the 2019 Fire Safety Poster Contest this year, and only a dozen students were selected to have their work included in the 2020 wall calendar. Among the 12 were two students from Jefferson County.
Sophia Mriscin, First Grade
Lucy Peyton, Fifth Grade

Charles Town Middle School
On Wednesday, October 30, 2019, the following 8th grade students were inducted into the Charles Town Middle School Chapter of the National Junior Honor Society. This is a great honor for both students and school.
Haley Brady Kaitlyn Hartzell
Benjamin Caltrider Patrick Hazlett, Jr.
Allison Dodson Layla Higdon
Aiden Fisher Megan Mitchell
Haley Frazier Addison Skinner
The National Junior Honor Society (NJHS) elevates a school’s commitment to the values of scholarship, service, leadership, character, and citizenship. By creating and maintaining a chapter, CTMS shows a continuing dedication to the 5 pillars of community listed above. It is with great pride and enthusiasm that we announce our new members. 

Harpers Ferry Middle School
Coach Waller would like to recognize the Harpers Ferry Middle School Varsity Volleyball team who won the MAC Championship this year. 
Briana Flores Autumn Penwell
Rosie Hall Rileigh Ripa
Cynthia Keiter Jazmyn Taylor
Ashley Kerr Emily Tentindo
Jasmine Matthews Kassie Whitmer

Shepherdstown Middle School
Matthew Spiker - former SMS student, who earned his Eagle Scout by refurbishing our outdoor bleachers.
Jonah Plaza - former SMS student, who earned his Eagle Scout by installing an outdoor volleyball net. 

Wildwood Middle School
Wildwood Middle School would like to recognize the following students:
Demarius Wallace--school spirit
Tay'shaun Roper--school spirit
Jayden Yates--school spirit
Nycere Jacobs--school spirit
Austin Furr--FFA Lawn Tractor Driving Contest, Member of Opening and Closing Ceremonies Team (1st place in the state)
Jasmine Jackson--1st place FFA Quiz Bowl Team, Member of Opening and Closing Ceremonies Team (1st place in the state)
Jahzahna Venable--JV Volleyball Representative
Hailey Owens--JV Volleyball Representative
Sarah Diaz--JV Volleyball Representative
Geva Resch--JV Volleyball Representative

Jefferson High School
Jefferson High School would like to recognize:
Robert Foglesong and Abbigail White - National Merit Semi-Finalists
Nathaniel Humber for Congress of Future Medical Leaders – Summer 2019
Jacob Wenner - who completed his Private Pilot’s License through the JROTC Flight Academy this summer.

Washington High School
Anna Walter - Elected as the Lieutenant Governor for Division 5 and 6 for the WV State Board of Key Club
Hannah Weeks - Elected as the Secretary/ Treasurer for the WV State Board of Key Club
Ivy Jenkins – A sophomore at WHS and is the WV Vice President of Community Outreach for Family, Career and Community Leaders of America. She is extremely active in both our school chapter and state organization. She is currently organizing a state wide community service project called Operation Gratitude for WV FCCLA.
The following students were selected as Athletes of Honor and recognized by the Rotary Club of Martinsburg for their Service Above Self. They have done acts of service and or kindness to others at school and/or in their community.
Francisco Amore Olivia Saunders
Colleen Cavagnaro Donovan Itobi
Bryson Fleming Daniel Moylan
Natalie Happy Shelby Patton
Kathleen McGivern - A Freshman who represented WHS at the 2019 West Virginia WVSSAC Cross Country Championships and placed in the top 50 
Ethan Hardy – Ethan won the Region II AAA Golf Championship, helping carry the WHS team to the WV State Golf Tournament. Ethan finished third in the state and earned WV State AAA All-Tournament honors. He was a member of the 2017 WV AAA State Championship Golf Team and the 2018 WV AAA State Runner-up Golf Team.

WV Recovery Coach/Life Coach Academy participation:
Jefferson County Board of Education would like to recognize the following students for stepping up as a leader at their school by participating in the WV Recovery Coach/Life Coach Academy and for helping support your peers in the greater Jefferson County Community.
Emily Arnicar Ally Piercy
Kerrigan Renshaw Wyatt Hensell
Maria Ramirez Sofija Lotze
Maya Johnson Allison Rice
Reanne Hagedorn Donovan Itobi
Kiana Twyman Konnor Hawthorne
Isabella Longsworth Daniel Moylan
Madison Simon Xavier Carter
Mackenzie Mackey Frankie Amore
Kathryn Hopfer Jacob Chadwick
Emma Berst Ethan Williams
Rony Portillo Ethan Brady
Morgan Jones Chloe Munslow
Luis Neira

© 2019 Jefferson County Schools. All Rights Reserved.