Welcome 4

Board of Education Welcomes New Members
Posted on 07/03/2018
The 2018-2019 Jefferson County Board of Education

CHARLES TOWN, W.Va. – Three people were sworn in as members of the Jefferson County Board of Education Monday. Jefferson County Circuit Clerk Laura Storm administered the oath of office to Laurie Ogden, Arthena S. Roper, and Kathryn Skinner. Each was elected to serve a four-year term on the board during the Primary Election in May 2018. They join board members Gary Kable and Mark Osbourn.

Circuit Clerk Laura Storm swears in newly elected Board Members

              Skinner and Ogden were reelected in May. Both will be serving their second term on the board. Roper was elected for the first time. It is the next step in a 25-year career in education for Roper. She has spent the last 15 years with Jefferson County Schools, most recently serving as the Cultural Diversity Facilitator. She said there is a lot of opportunity in Jefferson County and she hopes to tap into that by serving on the board.

“I’m invested in this community and I hope to just add to what’s going on,” Roper said after the meeting. “The sky is the limit. I’m really excited about the future.”

              Following the swearing in the board elected Skinner as Board President and Osbourn as Vice President. Both were elected unanimously. The board also voted to continue holding regular Board of Education meetings on the second and fourth Monday of every month. Regular meetings begin at 7:00 p.m. and are held at the Board of Education Office at 110 Mordington Avenue, Charles Town, West Virginia, unless otherwise posted.


© 2018 Jefferson County Schools. All Rights Reserved.