Kiwanis Recognizes JCS Eighth Graders

Kiwanis Recognizes JCS Eighth Graders
Posted on 06/09/2020
CHARLES TOWN, W.Va. -- Although the COVID-19 Pandemic will make things a little different this year, the Charles Town Kiwanis Club moved ahead with its annual recognition of the top 50 academic 8th graders in Jefferson County.
“We usually have an evening awards ceremony, but with the current situation, we will not be able to do that this time,” according to Jefferson County Schools Middle School Coordinator Debra Arvon. “We will give them their award certificate in the fall but would like to recognize them for their achievements now.”
Students are selected based on their academic performance, with the honorees are divided by the county’s four middle schools based on population.
The top academic students from each school in 2020 are: 

Charles Town Middle

Harpers Ferry Middle

Shepherdstown Middle

Wildwood Middle

Addison Skinner

Javier Benavides

Trevor Donley

Ryleigh Conner

Paige Herfurth

Brooklynn Bentley

Sadie Hagerty

Chloe de Moulin

Riley Bartell

Elena Brunty

Gillian King

Bellamy Faunce

Haley Frazier

Luke Busby

Lindsay Leonard

Kaden Patterson

Sarah Slagle

Iris Caanen

Ty Vickers

Vanessa Schilling

William Wilt

Aubrie James

Ja Dim Khai

Kylie Wacker

Taylor Decker

Molly Lassen

Andrew Oyerly

Ava Wilson

Jack Todd

Jonah McElwain

Chloe Winbush

Olivia Marstiller

Morgan Cave

Elizabeth Owens


Jonathan Pearson

Harper Broomall

Catherine Pallay


Owen Thompson

Kylie Souvanthong

Danielle Pallay



James Todd

Isabel Rosa



Maya Edwards

Britt Shoedel



Artiana Doza

Emerson Tracy



Joshua Molina

Phoebe Young



Olivia Bowley




The Charles Town Kiwanis Club was chartered in 1926.
The club sponsors many activities and events to promote the well-being, scholarship, and healthy activities of young people, including sponsoring and funding K-Kids Clubs at Wright Denny Intermediate School and Charles Town Middle School, as well as and a Key Club at Jefferson High.
The Club also provides a $1000 scholarship for a graduating senior, a second $1000 scholarship for Shepherd University, and a Fishing Derby for students.

© 2019 Jefferson County Schools. All Rights Reserved.