January One Jefferson Winners Named

January One Jefferson Winners Named
Posted on 01/29/2020
CHARLES TOWN, WV – The One Jefferson Awards for January 2020 were presented Monday during the regular meeting of the Jefferson County Board of Education. 
The One Jefferson Award is presented each month to one service person and one professional who were each nominated by their peers for exemplifying the standards and atmosphere of Jefferson County Schools.
Dr. Dawn Tyler, Principal at C.W. Shipley Elementary School, accepted on behalf of Pam Fravel, a clerk in the school’s office.
Dr. Tyler nominated Fravel, stating that during a staffing change she really stepped up to the plate.
“Pam has had to navigate a learning curve and learn new programs and do much more than she has traditionally done in our front office,” Dr. Tyler said. “She does it all with a smile and is always willing to help others. I am so appreciative of her efforts, early morning dedication, and hard work.”
Fravel was ill and could not accept the award in person but intends to appear before the board at a future meeting.
Harpers Ferry Middle School Guidance Counselor Judi Himelrick received the Professional One Jefferson Award Monday.
Principal Eric Vandell introduced her to the board and spoke about how much she meant to the school.
Himelrick was nominated by her colleague Erin Maranda, who also spoke during the meeting.
Maranda said that Himelrick makes the experience at Harpers Ferry wonderful for the students.
“She puts the students first and loves every student that comes into her office in a way that makes them feel comfortable and at ease. She is a true asset to the school and community.”
Himelrick has organized field trips to Shepherd University and arranged for the James Rumsey Mobile Career van to be present at the school. 
She has also aided in organizing Red Ribbon Week for the students and college exploration week that entails a day with over 40 volunteers to share their careers with the kids.
The One Jefferson Award is presented during the second monthly meeting of the Jefferson County Board of Education.
Nominations can be made online at the Jefferson County Schools website, www.jcswv.org. 

© 2019 Jefferson County Schools. All Rights Reserved.