JCS Student Wins State Geobee

JCS Student Wins State Geobee
Posted on 04/01/2019
SHEPHERDSTOWN, W.Va. – For the first time in 30 years, the West Virginia Geography Bee was held to the Eastern Panhandle, and for the second year in a row Wildwood Middle Schools Joss Poteet took home first place. 
The 2019 Geography Bee was held at Shepherd University on March 29. This was the second level of the National Geographic GeoBee competition, which is now in its 31st year. School GeoBees were held in schools with fourth- through eighth-grade students throughout the state to determine each school champion. School champions then took an online qualifying test, which they submitted to the National Geographic Society. Poteet will go to Washington D.C. to compete in the national competition.
Katherine Hinson teaches at Warm Springs Middle School in Morgan County. She is one of the Geography Bee State Coordinators this year. Hinson said she wanted to bring something positive to the Eastern Panhandle.
“The GeoBee has always been held in the southern regions of West Virginia, first in Charleston and then at Concord University in Athens. We celebrate the opportunity to have the State GeoBee closer to the eastern counties and the new opportunities for students to participate in it.”
She said Joe Manzo, Professor of Geography at Concord University / Co-Coordinator of West Virginia Geographic Alliance at Concord, was open to it being in Shepherdstown. There have been several teachers and families who have in the past suggested doing more activities related to the WV Geographic Alliance and National Geographic’s various educational outreach programs. 
In 2019, the national champion will receive a $25,000 college scholarship, $1,000 in cash, a lifetime membership in the National Geographic Society, and an all-expenses-paid Lindblad expedition to the Galápagos Islands aboard the National Geographic.
Other Jefferson County School students competing in this year’s event were Joshua Whitehurst (C.W. Shipley Elementary School), Christian Staubs (Charles Town Middle School), Dayton Staubs (Shepherdstown Elementary School), and Andrew Oyerly (Shepherdstown Middle School). Overly was the second runner up in the competition.

© 2019 Jefferson County Schools. All Rights Reserved.