Math Field Day Winners Announced

Math Field Day Winners Announced
Posted on 02/13/2019
CHARLES TOWN, W.Va. -- February is the month for many school activities, and Math Field Day for Jefferson County‘s students is one of these annual events.  This year’s competition was held on three consecutive days: Middle School on February 5 at Harpers Ferry Middle School, Grades Four and Five on February 6 at Wright Denny Intermediate School, and the high schools on February 7 at Washington High School 
Each group participated in a number of activities designed to test their mathematical knowledge and skill.  The top three winners in each division qualified to attend the Regional Math Field Day competition to be held on March 11 (snow date – March 13) at Potomac State College in Keyser , West Virginia. From there the top three Regional winners in grade 4-9 qualify for the West Virginia State Math Field Day to be held on April 27 at Fairmont State University in Fairmont, West Virginia.  In the high school division, the top 10 Regional winners qualify for the State competition.
The winners in the Grades Four and Five group this year were:  5th Grade: 1st – Emilio Perez-Diggs (IWright Denny Intermediate School), 2nd – Garrett Evans (Driswood Elementary School, 3rd – Aurora Rodd (Wright Deny Intermediate School), 1st alternate – Scott Leonard (Shepherdstown Elementary School), 2nd alternate – Osvaido Garcia (Wright Denny Intermediate School); 4th Grade: 1st – Madison Meagher (Wright Denny Intermediate School), 2nd – Colin Campbell (Wright Denny Intermediate School), 3rd  - Nicholas Gilmore (South Jefferson Elementary School), 1st alternate – Santiago Smith (C.W. Shipley Elementary School), 2nd alternate – Jake Marcus (Wright Denny Intermediate School).
Winning Teams for this group- were 5th Grade – Wright Denny Intermediate School whose members included Austin Kline, Jackson Auger, Lucas Vega Leon, Osvaido Garcia-Lemus, Emilio Perez-Diggs, and Aurora Rodd; and 4th Grade Team – Wright Denny Intermediate School whose members included Colin Campbell, Mason Meagher, Jake Marcus, Owen Freeman, Ethan Schaeffer, and Daniel Williams.
Winners in the Middle School Group were: 6th Grade – 1st – Megan Brady (Charles Town Middle School), 2nd – Ella McGabe (Harpers Ferry Middle School). 3rd – Brayden Adams (Harpers Ferry Middle School), 1st alternate – Tristan Ricker (Harpers Ferry Middle School), 2nd alternate- Jonathan Hartzell (Charles Town Middle School);  7th Grade- 1st- Britt Shoedel (Harpers Ferry Middle School), 2nd – Lucca Parker (Shepherdstown Middle School), 3rd – Nathaniel Kelly (Shepherdstown Middle School), 1st alternate-Andy Zhou (Harpers Ferry Middle School), 2nd alternate – Joshua Molina (Charles Town Middle School); 8th Grade -  1sr-Sam Corum (Shepherdstown Middle School), 2nd-Layla Parker (Shepherdstown Middle School), 3rd –Owen Walton (Harpers Ferry Middle School), 1st alternate – Eli Dillow (Shepherdstown Middle School), 2nd alternate – Lily Cucuzella (Shepherdstown Middle School)+, AELYNN BACK
The 6th Grade Winning Team was Harpers Ferry Middle School whose members included Ella McGabe, Brayden Adams, Tristan Rucker, Aidan Ulderich, and Matthew Funkhouser.  The 7th Grade Winner Team was Harpers Ferry Middle School whose members included Britt Shoedel, Andy Zhou, Sara Jackson, Catherine Pallay, and Brooklyn Bentley.  The 8th Grade Winning Team was Shepherdstown MIddle School whose members included Sam Corum, Layla Parker, Eli Dillow, Lily Cucuzella, and Kaelynn Back.
On the high school level, the competition between Jefferson High School and Washington High School resulted in the following winners: 9th Grade – 1st – Collin Guedel (Jefferson High), 2nd – Kyle deNobel (Jefferson High), 3rd – Ethan Fisher (Jefferson High).  The 9th Grade Winning Team was Jefferson High School.
10th Grade – 12th Grade – 1st – Daisy Levine (Jefferson High), 2nd – Nathan Evans (Jefferson High), 3rd – Ryan King (Jefferson High), 4th – Kenny Harris (Jefferson High), 5th – Ross Elko (Jefferson High)n,  6th – Soren Kowalski (Washington High), 7th – David Milleson (Washington High), 8th – Sean Corum, 9th – Michael Henriquez, 10th Jacob Vila (WREVISWED MATH FIELD DAYashington High).  The 10th -12th Grades Winning Team was Jefferson High School.
The County Math Field Day Coordinators were Brian Bauer and Brian Collins. 

© 2019 Jefferson County Schools. All Rights Reserved.